Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

We ate chicken knees. FRIED. That’s right folks, while in Vancouver we set off to this apparently BEST fish congee restaurant in the city. It was a chilly morning so a hot bowl of fish congee sounded perfect. While at the restaurant we saw everyone getting this heaping plate of fried something. At first, I thought it was fried pork chops but after asking the waitress, she told us the dish was deep fried chicken knees. 

For those medically inclined folks, (in humans) it is the joint where the distal femur joins with the proximal fibula and tibila. Capped off by the patella. Sorry, I had to explain so that the medical people can understand. And yes, I have had my fair share of those anatomy, biochem, physiology, neuroscience, etc. classes. 

This was what we came here for: fish congee. I wasn’t too impressed.  Can make it better. 

Also tried a bowl of egg noodles w/ fish balls. Again, not impressive. Can make it better. 

Got attacked by Zoey. Now that she’s learning how to initiate kisses, she just goes in for the kill. No mercy. 

LOVE her tiny fingers. So adorable!

Drumroll please…chicken knees everyone! See, doesn’t look scary! Looks kinda like popcorn shrimp too. 

It was so yummy! Basically, fried cartilage w/ tiny bits of chicken meat. Both my husband and I were in heaven until the dish was gone. Where can I find enough chicken knees to make this dish again?!! Oh wait, I’m on my healthy regimen right now. 

A few snapshots of the little one! 

Would you ever try deep fried chicken knees?

Til next post, Kellie

